Governor Declares Disaster

Governor Declares Disaster Click to Enlarge

Minnesota Governor Tim Walz has requested a Secretarial Disaster Designation for twelve counties in the northwest part of the state.

Walz made the request in a letter to U-S Ag Secretary Sonny Purdue on Thursday.

The governor says farm challenges have become even more acute with severe weather conditions plaguing the state.

Walz goes on to say that Minnesota is well below the 95% five year average for sugarbeets - and the potato crop failure will have a cascading effect on prices next year.

A secretarial disaster declaration would make emergency loans available to affected producers. The USDA typically requires that a county have a 30% loss in production of at least one crop.

The declaration would include: Polk, Clay, Norman, Marshall, Pennington, Lake of the Woods, Kittson, Roseau, Red Lake, Wilkin, Becker, and Mahnomen counties.

Leave a comment